3 Comments

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush
(Hush, Hush #1)
by Becca Fitzpatrick
Oct 13th, 2009
Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
Source: Library


For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

I must admit, when I started reading Hush, Hush, I was worried that this book would be another Twilight clone, what with our main character Nora meeting the mysterious and dangerous (but oddly alluring) bad boy Patch in their biology class. While it definitely is reminiscent of Twilight in many more ways, the writing is a lot more solid and the characters more likeable, leading to an entertaining story that, while not without problems, I found impossible to put down.

Due to aforementioned Twilight similarities I wasn’t sold on the book right away. It was mostly Nora going to school and hating Patch (but also secretly lusting after him); I’ve read too many books like that for it to be all that interesting. But then some seriously freaky and weird accidents occurred that really made me intrigued. And I think this is one of the book’s strong points: the sense of mystery that makes you want to continue reading just to find out what happens next and what everything means.

Another thing I really liked about Hush, Hush, was the sort of eerie and dark atmosphere/setting. The book takes place in the small fictional town of Coldwater, Maine. Nora lives in an old farmhouse that is constantly enveloped by fog, with the closest neighbor a mile away. This sets the stage for the rest of the book, with Nora’s own house providing a lot of the scariness. Of course the whole fallen angels mythology added to the mysterious atmosphere of the book by making me wonder how Nora was connected to it and who Patch was. I found it really interesting, probably my favorite part of the book, honestly. I just wish there was more of it! I really enjoyed the glimpses into Patch’s past as well.

Character-wise, I actually really liked Nora at the start of the book. She’s smart, strong, driven and someone I think a lot of people could relate to. As the book progressed, however, she started making some really questionable decisions that put her in unnessary danger. On the other hand, I disliked Patch in the beginning. He’s such a jerk! Sure, an incredibly hot jerk, but a jerk nonetheless. But after finding out who and what he is later on, I sorta… started liking him. Oops. He’s one of those mysterious and arrogant guys that are so common in paranormal romances, but you can’t help but like. Plus, he’s a fallen angel which ups the hotness factor.

This leads me to the romance between Patch and Nora, which was the driving force behind much of the events in the book. They have super sizzingly chemistry together that leads to some pretty hot scenes, but I just felt like their attraction to each other was purely physical; there wasn’t any emotional connection, which just made their romance fall a bit flat for me. Physical attraction is all well and good, but to keep me interested I need a bit more depth. This is only the first in the series, however, so maybe the subsequent books will work this out.

Overall, despite its flaws I found Hush, Hush very entertaining. Although frustrating to read at times, I couldn’t put it down because I really wanted to know what would happen next. I will be reading the second book in the series, Crescendo.

Fans of Twilight and by-the-books paranormal romance will love Hush, Hush. Everyone else? Well it’s a fairly quick read, so I’d say give it a try anyway if you’re already interested.
Rating: 3 out of 5 butterflies.

3 comments on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. […] already read and reviewed Hush, Hush here. Currently reading Crescendo and well, I’m not too impressed with it so far haha. I’ll […]

  2. […] of course, I started this blog in November. My first post, which was a review of Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick, went live on the 19th. I have since posted […]

  3. In Lena Haloway’s dystopian society love is hazardous as well as prohibited.
    In this dystopian novel about forbidden love by
    award gaining author Lauren Oliver, comes the tale of
    a woman who believes that love is to be feared, until she complies with a child which alters her thoughts as well as her
    life.

Leave a Reply

