10 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday (1)

Waiting on Wednesday is weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
January 3, 2012

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl…

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

I’ve been DYING to read Cinder ever since I read the first chapter that was posted at the USA Today website. I mean, a retelling of Cinderella with a teenage cyborg mechanic, told in third person point of view (I am the only one who’s a bit tired of all the first person in YA books?), that takes place somewhere other than the US/UK/Canada? COUNT ME IN. Also: DAT COVER. It is gorgeous. Excuse me while I drool.

10 comments on “Waiting on Wednesday (1)

  1. I love it when author’s add a new twist to fairy-tale re-tellings. Can’t wait to read this one, either!

    My WoW

  2. I can’t wait for Cinder!! ARC reviews make it sound amazing!

    Waiting on Wednesday @ Radiant Shadows

  3. I can’t wait till Cinder releases. Everyone with the ARCs seems to love it. And it takes place in New Beijing? Wow. I’m not tired of first person (actually, I prefer it) but this one sounds so uniquely different that I wish I had the book right now!

    You can find my WoW here.

  4. This one sounds really cool! I love the sounds of it! Also – I love your blog design it’s very chic! 🙂

    Giselle
    Xpresso Reads

  5. I’ve seen this book a few times. The cover looks creepy. The book sounds interesting. Great choice! Thank you for sharing it!

    Sam
    Books For All Seasons

  6. Great pick! 🙂 I’ve been waiting on this one for quite awhile, sounds like it’s going to be an amazing book.

    Here is my Waiting on Wednesday: WoW

    And feel free to enter my Holiday Giveaway: Holiday Giveaway

  7. Ack!!! An ARC of this is coming to me soon. I cannot wait to read it!!!

    Here’s mine: Goldilox’s WOW

  8. I’m looking forward to this as well and love the cover. Good choice!

    My WOW

  9. Been hearing so many great things about this book. Some of my friends loved it. Great pick. Come visit me as well,

    Grace
    Livre De Amour-Books of Love Blog

  10. I can’t wait to read Cinder! I’ve heard such awesome things about it 🙂
    Rachel Brooks Writes

Leave a Reply

