Leave a comment

Top Ten Tuesday – Childhood Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This was a really fun list to put together! So much nostalgia! Anyway, here they are, my top ten childhood favorites, in no particular order:

1. Bunnicula by Deborah and James Howe
Bunnicula is about a family who adopts a rabbit who may or may not be a vampire (hence the title) and the adventures of the family dog and cat as they try to figure out what’s up with the new pet. This book was super popular in my fourth grade class, so my teacher would sometimes read aloud from it. I haven’t read it since then, but for some reason the book stuck with me and I remember it fondly, no matter how silly it probably was.

2. Arthur Adventure Series by Marc Brown
Whenever my class in elementary school got to go to the school library, I would always head straight to the section that housed the Arthur books. Most of the time, they were all checked out by the time I got there, but every once in a while I would get my hands on a coveted Arthur book and I’d check it out, whether I had read it before or not. There is something very charming about an aardvark going through common childhood situations, like getting glasses, loosing a tooth, or welcoming a new member to the family. I also loved the tv show and maybe even still watch reruns of it today.

3. Thoroughbred Series by Joanna Campbell
As a child, I was one of those little girls obsessed with horses, so it’s no wonder that I eventually discovered this series when I was nine and then devoured the fifty or so books in the series in one summer.

4. The BFG by Roald Dahl
I could put any number of Roald Dahl books on this list, but I chose The BFG because it was the first of his books that I ever read. It’s also a really adorable story and I definitely want to reread it again!

5. Holes by Louis Sachar
I remember thinking this was the coolest book ever when I first read it ten or so years ago; even today I still think it’s a fantastic read. It has some very likable and complex characters as well as a really interesting plot. If you haven’t read it yet, you definitely should!

6. The Giver by Lois Lowry
The Giver was an assigned reading book in seventh grade, so while most of the kids in my class ended up hating it just because they were forced to read it, I was enraptured with it from the very first page. It really struck a chord with me and made me think about things I’d never thought about before. Today it remains one of my favorite books ever.

7. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
Ender’s Game was my first real science fiction book and, like The Giver, really made me think.

8. Misty of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry
Misty of Chincoteague was one of the very first horse books I read and probably was one of the reasons why I became so obsessed with them. I wanted so badly to go to Chincoteague and get my own wild pony after I read the book. Heck, I still want to go to Chincoteague, honestly.

9. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
Black Beauty is the quintessential, classic horse book, and for good reason. It’s beautifully written and teaches how it’s necessary to show empathy towards animals. This is another book that’s due for a reread.

10. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
No childhood favorites list would be complete without Harry Potter. Obviously, this wasn’t the first book I read or even the first book I loved, but it still holds a very special place in my heart, simply because I grew up with Harry and the rest of the Hogwarts gang. I was eleven when I first read Sorcerer’s Stone, and I had recently turned seventeen when I read the very last page of Deathly Hallows. So these books were a huge part of my childhood, and I honestly don’t think I’d be the person I am today without them.

Leave a Reply

