1 Comment

2012 Reading Challenges

Next year will be my first year participating in reading challenges! I’ve picked five so far; I might sign up for more later, but I think five is probably enough for my first year. I don’t want to overwhelm myself! Below are the challenges I plan to participate in, plus some of the books I plan to read for each one.

Debut Author Challenge

Hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. I’m really looking forward to this challenge since there are so amazing debut novels coming out next year!

  1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  2. Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
  3. The Selection by Kiera Cass
  4. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows
  5. Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown
  6. Everneath by Brodi Ashton
  7. Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard
  8. Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
  9. Croak by Gina Damico
  10. ExtraNormal by Suze Reese
  11. Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield
  12. Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

Sophomore Reading Challenge

Hosted by Shanyn at Chick Loves Lit.

  1. Insurgent (Divergent, #2) by Veronica Roth
  2. Hallowed (Unearthly, #2) by Cynthia Hand
  3. The Right & the Real by Joëlle Anthony
  4. Revived by Cat Patrick
  5. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
  6. The Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen

Standalone Reading Challenge

Hosted by Hafsah at IceyBooks and Britta at I Like These BooksI love series; I love getting to know characters and being able to follow them throughout multiple books. But sometimes it’s nice to read a book that can stand on its own, since there are so many books coming out as part of a series recently. So this is the perfect challenge!

  1. Fracture by Megan Miranda
  2. Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard
  3. Harbinger by Sara Wilson Etienne
  4. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen
  5. Try Not to Breathe by Jennifer R. Hubbard
  6. Shadows Cast by Stars by Catherine Knutsson
  7. For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
  8. Something Like Normal by Trish Doller
  9. All These Lives by Sarah Wylie
  10. Auracle by Gina Rosati
  11. The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers
  12. Pieces of Us by Margie Gelbwasser
  13. Gone, Gone, Gone by Hannah Moskowitz
  14. The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman
  15. The Chaos by Nalo Hopkinson

Ebook Challenge

Hosted by Sarah at Workaday Reads. I’ll be receiving my very first e-reader (a kindle–so excited!) for Christmas, so I plan to buy/borrow/receive a lot of ebooks next year. So of course I had to signup for this challenge! I’ll start out with the CD level with ten ebooks.

  1. Blood Will Tell by Samantha Young
  2. Angelfall by Susan Ee
  3. Destined by Jessie Harrell
  4. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  5. Hushed by Kelley York
  6. The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
  7. The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa
  8. The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa
  9. Dearly, Departed by Lia Habel
  10. Existence by Abbi Glines

Why Buy the Cow? Reading Challenge

Hosted by Missie at the Unread Reader and Kelly from Reading the Paranormal. In case you couldn’t tell by the name, this challenge is for reading free ebooks! Not review copies, gifted, etc, but legally obtained free ebooks from Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble, etc. In preparation for getting my kindle, I’ve been looking around the kindle store to see what ebooks were available, and I was surprised to find that there are a ton of them are free! And some of them have great reviews as well! I’ve already downloaded 75+ free ebooks, and I keep getting more every week, so I thought this would be the perfect challenge to get those read. I’ll start out with the Coupon Clipper level with twelve ebooks. I won’t list them right now since I have too many to choose from!

One comment on “2012 Reading Challenges

  1. Thanks for signing up for the standalone challenge!!!

    Good luck 🙂
    Britta

Leave a Reply

