9 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday (5)

Waiting on Wednesday is weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
April 24th, 2012

You will kill. The only question is when. 

In the dark days since the insidious Red Lung virus decimated the human population, vampires have risen to rule the crumbling cities and suburbs. Uncontested Princes hold sway over diminished ranks of humans: their “pets.” In exchange for their labor, loyalty and of course, their blood, these pets are registered, given food and shelter, permitted to survive. 

Unregistered humans cling to fringes, scavenging for survival. Allison Sekemoto and her fellow Unregistereds are hunted, not only by vampires, but by rabids, the unholy result of Red Lung-infected vampires feeding on unwary humans. One night, Allie is attacked by a pack of rabids, saved by an unlikely hero…and turned vampire.

Uncomfortable in her undead skin, Allie falls in with a ragtag crew of humans seeking a cure, or cures: for Rabidism and for Vampirism. She’s passing for human…for now. But the hunger is growing and will not be denied. Not for friendship—not even for love.


Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London
May 29th, 2012

The war is over. The humans lost. And in the shattered world that arises, the vampires are king. They rule over the remaining walled cities with an iron fist, none more terrifying than Lord Valentine. His concern is with blood and blood alone, and seeing that it is ‘donated’ on time. 

It’s Dawn Montgomery’s duty to ensure the safety of her fellow humans within the city, but also to serve as Delegate to Lord Valentine. She is the conduit between the two worlds, the human and vampire, and the youngest to ever do so. 

But when Lord Valentine’s son, Victor, steps into her life, everything changes. She assumes he wants her blood, like all vampires. But he’s after more: her heart.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday theme is: vampires and dystopias! Yeah, I know vampires are overdone, but I think combining them with a dystopian society is a really cool idea. I’m a big fan of the Iron Fey series, (okay, I’ve only read the first book so far, but I did really enjoy it) so seeing The Immortal Rules is written by Julie Kagawa sold me on the book right away. And the synopsis of Darkness Before the Dawn sounds really promising as well. Plus the cover is gorgeous. Really, both of the covers are beautiful!

9 comments on “Waiting on Wednesday (5)

  1. Both of these sound excellent 🙂

    Here’s my WOW pick.

    Kat
    Wit and Sin

  2. Looking forward to both of these. One has a cool and creepy cover, the other is beautiful and reminds me of the Fallen series covers.

    My WOW

  3. I love vampires! Never overdone! I can’t wait for Immortal Rules! I love future vampire dystopian societies!

    Visit My WOW

  4. Awesome picks. Both of them are on my goodreads list. They looks so good. =]
    Here is My WoW

  5. Darkness Before Dawn sounds very good! I like the cover a lot! Awesome choice! Thank you for sharing it!!

    Sam
    Books For All Seasons

  6. eeeek The Immortal Rules is definitely a must wait! I love The Iron King series and I have my hopes up that this one is a history in the making! yay~ Darkness before Dawn looks promising as well but I can’t help compare it on Fallen.

    Awesome pick!

    My WoW picks here

    Jay @ We Fancy Books

  7. I do enjoy a good dystopian novel…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY WOW POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  8. Yes! Kagawa’s vampire novel! I’ve been waiting on that one forever! I’m so excited.

Leave a Reply

